Beautiful, serene Christmas Eve

Shopping is finished, the kids are ready for bed, I’m sipping a cup of eggnog (the grownup kind), and we have a big night of giftwrapping ahead of us. We just started a new family tradition of watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation… the kids are old enough now, and they loved it. Then a little light websurfing, and a round of the Numa Numa song. And now the kids are watching the last bit of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I’m thinking about how much work needs to be done yet – cleaning up the kitchen from two nights of dinners. And prepping the ingredients for dinner tomorrow (I prefer a Christmas Day dinner). I also need to try to figure out what we’re going to do with a wayward mouse caught earlier tonight.

I’d keep it if I could. At least until the weather thaws. It would die out there right now, and I’m not about to put it back out in the chicken coop where he trapped himself.

The snow just keeps coming down.

Yesterday I nearly killed myself shoveling the driveway and sidewalks. It was surprisingly fast-going, done very quickly compared to how long I thought it would take. But it took me hours to recover. I’m just not used to shoveling snow. :)

Looks like I’ll get a lot more practice over the next week. Unless I can feign inability well enough that Hubbins will feel sorry for me.

THOUGHT OF THE DAY: Fortunately, Christmas is nearly over, and we can focus on getting the New Year started right.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

