It’s c-c-c-c-c-cold!

I woke up really early this morning. Peeked out into the backyard where the chicken run is glowing a warm, glowy, warmy glow. Nothing is burning, so that’s a plus.

Last evening, I skated drove over to Lowes to buy a heat lamp. The only ones in stock were 250 watt bulbs – I’m pretty sure that would have cooked the girls. I looked around, asked the guy in the lighting department, and ended up with a substitute 75 watt halogen bulb. I am nervous about halogen. But, we needed something to keep the chickens warm during this cold snap that promises us two weeks of icy misery. So, I got home and hubbins put it in the run. There was eventually a pretty big difference between the temp in there and the temp outside the run, so it was doing what we needed it to do.

So, I wake up this morning and look out there, and the lamp is now on the floor of the run. The shadows on the door tell me that he chickens are huddled around the lamp. And so far there isn’t a fire.

Yes, I would eat my chickens if they were to expire by fire. I’m sure they’d understand.

There is no way in H – E – double toothpicks that I am going out there. It’s 20 freaking degrees, with a breeze. The lamp will stay there. I’m sure the girls will be fine.  Even if the temp in the run is showing as 24 degrees, I’m pretty sure that where the girls are sitting is much warmer. Just gotta listen for chicken screams, I guess.

THOUGHT OF THE DAY: Fortunately, the tires on our Jeep are still good enough to make it until Spring.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

